The Joan Thirsk Memorial Prize 2020

RHN 137/2019 | Opportunity

British Agricultural History Society

Closing date for submissions: 13 January 2020


The Joan Thirsk Memorial Prize 2020

The British Agricultural History Society is pleased to invite submissions for its annual Thirsk Prize. Books published for the first time in 2019 in the broad area of British and Irish rural history, or which use Britain and Ireland as comparators, are eligible. Submission is by sending a pdf of the work to the secretary of the prize committee by Noon on 13 January 2020. The Winner will be announced at the Society’s annual conference on April 2019. Full details of eligibility and how to submit can be found at the BAHS website.

Previous winners of the prize have been

2017: Peter Jones, Agricultural Enlightenment: Knowledge, Technology and Nature, 1750-1840 (OUP)

2018: Briony McDonagh, Elite Women and the Agricultural Landscape, 1700-1830 (Routledge)

2019: Paul Warde, The Invention of Sustainability: Nature and Destiny, c.1500-1870 (CUP).